Human Game Pieces

Games that make learning fun are an important part of any classroom. I have taken that idea to the extreme, by supersizing the game board! I laid out a simple pattern on a large tarp using duct tape. Instead of using dice, we are moving around the board according to directions on a large beach ball. The kids love it! By enlarging the board, I am encouraging the children to move more. This will help them better remember the information. The other great thing about this game is that it can be used with anything! Here we are using the board to review the Seven Habits of Happy Kids, but in the past I have used it to review books we’ve read or math facts. This is definitely an example of a little work going a long way! I do want to add that one thing that is important to remember is that playing on a big board is just like playing a game on a regular board. You would never play candy land with 20 people, so don't try to do that here. I have found that if you have the children play in teams, the additional of challenge of making everyone fit on one square adds to the fun of the game.

Write a comment

Comments: 0