Let the Coding Begin!

Today I began teaching the coding lessons from the "Hour of Code". I was really nervous. I am teaching these lessons at a summer camp. My biggest fear was that I was going to be so excited about this and the children were so not going to love it. I started with binary code. I braced my self for the inevitable, "Why do we have to do this? This is summer camp, not school!" I taught six different groups this lesson, from kindergarteners to middle schoolers. They loved it! I had children begging to take the code keys home so they could practice some more! Today we moved onto the actual programming and the maze games. Kids didn't want to leave my class! I would say that computer programming is a hit. If you haven't looked into the "Hour of Code", then you should. It can be found here. Bookmark the page!

Write a comment

Comments: 0